Life just levelled up and so did you. Be ready.

The loss of feelings, make greater feelings possible.

I remember as a child, how easily I was struck by emotions, and how strongly they hit me. A new song would lift me up to the sky in an instant, just like a stern look from my parents could rip my heart out and make tears flow like the Nile. Same goes for my teens, but here I more often recall sexual frustrations and achievements as larger than life events.

Point is, at 24, I am still young, but life’s got more blunt. New ideas don’t make me laugh with joy, nor does a rejection sting like a venomous snake anymore. Ideas are instead entertaining, and rejections is more like a rainy day, instead of a thundering hurricane outside my door. Recently I found this frustrating, for example, the idea for this text that came to me 5 minutes ago, would have made me thrilled when I was younger, but now it doesn’t really stir any particular strong emotion in me.

What a bummer, right? Maybe so, but I just came to picture how effective this makes me to do things where more is at stake. Events that involve great fears, and demands deep control during moments of intense stress – will now be easier to complete, since emotions won’t completely overpower me, or make me crumble under pressure.

So here’s my sentiment to all young adults, that feels like life doesn’t bring out any strong feelings anymore. Heed this call: With emotions made blunt, you are ready to take harder quests than ever before – with equally large rewards. Life just levelled up and so did you. Be ready.

Have a good evening!

Leave a comment